Karla Keffer

I’m Famous!

In Uncategorized on January 29, 2009 at 10:48 pm

Well, not really. In fact, not at all. I’m anonymous. But I did anonymously make The Brian Lehrer Show this morning, and I like to think that counts for something. You know, some sort of anonymously famous, albeit local status. Like that, maybe.

Scroll down the page to the “Project: Uncommon Economic Indicators” segment. I’m the one talking about hipsters at the 4:05 mark or so.

  1. hee, that’s cool. I never get on those call-in shows. I’ve called Talk of the Nation and Diane Rehm a few times. It stresses me out when I can’t get through.

  2. Go you! I’m not entirely sure what the increased presence of hipsters in your end of Flatbush means for the economy of your tri-state area, and would indeed be interested in hearing more. But you were on NPR, which is pretty cool. And NYC NPR apparently streams over the internetz, which I did not know, but which is also cool. So. Right on, on several counts!

  3. I get annoyed when I can’t get through to the call-in shows myself, although the one time I did get through, to “Sound Check,” I made an aberrant ass of myself. Lots of “ums” and “likes” and “y’knows.” Bleaugh.

    As for the hipster invasion, I think it means they don’t have the money for or aren’t willing to spend it on rent in places like Billypoint or Boerum Hill or Park Slope. The agent who rented me this place in July ’07 told me that he’d seen an influx of young white people in what had previously been an almost entirely black/West Indian area because the Park Slope rents were too high (FYI, I’m two subway stops from Park Slope). So for the present, I think it means that people are running out of cash and/or find it ludicrous and extravagant in the extreme to pay $1400 for a studio in Williamsburg when they can pay $900, or just under $1100 for a one-bedroom, in Flatbush.

    As for the future, I just don’t know. I hope it does not portend an influx of Starbucks and ‘inotecas and artisanal cheese shops. Hopefully we can learn from the current economic morass that such things are fine (except Starbucks) in moderation, but we do not need them in each and every neighborhood, and we do not need to drive up rents 5000% so we may have them right outside our doors.

  4. Where have all the black/West Indian people gone, long time passing?

  5. Flatbush still has way, way more black/West Indian people than young white hipsters. I think generally those who can’t afford to live in the gentrified neighborhoods (still disproportionally minorities) move further and further out in the boroughs, or Long Island/NJ, or to the Poconos.

Leave a Reply

